Hoyas Serving the Nation

Serving one's country, whether defined by being elected to Congress, serving in key positions in the administration, working on congressional staffs, in government agencies, or abroad as part of the nation's foreign policy apparatus, no doubt remains for many of our alumni a lasting tribute to the education they received on the "other" Hilltop.

Senate logoU.S. Senate

House of Representatives LogoU.S. House of Representatives

Trump Administration Officials White House pic

  • Rostin Behnam (COL '00), Commissioner, U.S. Commodity Futures Training Commission
  • Robert Daigle (MA '06), Director of Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation, Department of Defense
  • Robert Lighthizer (BA '69, L '73), U.S. Trade Representative
  • Mick Mulvaney (SFS '89), Director, Office of Management and Budget
  • Kenneth P. Rapuano (MA '92), Assistant Secretary of Defense, Homeland Security, and Global Defense
  • Elizabeth Walsh (C'83), Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the United States and Foreign Commercial Service

Nominations Pending Confirmation:

  • Lee Francis Cissna (L '95), Director, US Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS)
  • Jeffrey Clark (L '95), Assistant Attorney General, Environment & Natural Resources, Department of Justice
  • Kelley Eckels Currie (L '99), U.S. Representative on the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, with the rank of Ambassador, and Alternate U.S. Representative to the Sessions of the General Assembly
  • William J. Emanuel (L '63), Member of the National Labor Relations Board 
  • David J. Kautter (L '74), Assistant Secretary of the Treasury
  • Brian D. Quintenz (MBA '09), Commissioner of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • Mira Ricardel (SFS '82), Under Secretary of Commerce for Export Administration
  • James J. Sullivan, Jr. (L '80),  Member, Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
  • David Joel Trachtenberg (MSFS '80), Principal Deputy Secretary of Defense

Ongoing Terms:

  • Major General Joseph Dunford (MA '85), Chair, Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Terrell McSweeney (L '04), FTC Commissioner
  • Michael Piwowar (MBA '94), SEC Commissioner